The Choir of St. Michael’s

The Choir of St Michael's is a friendly, mixed voice choir with over twenty adults and children. The core repertoire is a varied one, centring on the traditional Anglican canon. The choir is not only the musical focal point for each Sunday morning Eucharist, but also gives concerts and recordings.

Personnel
Oliver Gooch has been Director of Music since 2003, formerly Organ Scholar of both Worcester Cathedral and Magdalene College, Cambridge. The Assistant Director of Music is Lindsay Bramley, formerly The Queen’s College, Oxford and Chorus Director of Chelsea Opera Group. The Assistant Organist is Lesley Burch, who
plays for sung Choral Evensong each week at 5.30pm.

Practices take place each Friday evening, from 7.00pm to 8.00pm, beginning with a practice for the children of
the choir. If you are interested in joining the ladies and gentlemen of the choir, please contact Oliver Gooch at:
ollie@musicatbray.co.uk

MUSIC LIST - Autumn 2019

DATE ANTHEM / MOTET COMPOSER MASS Cond / Org
Sunday 8 September
O for a closer walk with God Stanford               
Merbecke OG
Sunday 15 September Litany to the Holy Spirit
Peter Hurford
Merbecke
LB
Sunday 22 September Let thy merciful ears
Ubi Caritas           
Mudd
Duruflé
Merbecke LB
Sunday 29 September Holy is the True Light
Beati quorum via
Harris
Stanford
Merbecke LB
Sunday 6 October Anthem sung by Holyport Primary School
Now the green blade riseth

Routley
Merbecke LB
Thursday 10 October Choir Practice (7.00pm)     OG
Sunday 13 October Prayer for the Healing of the Sick  Tavener
Merbecke OG
Sunday 20 October Thou knowest, Lord
Cantique de Jean Racine
Purcell
Fauré
Merbecke LB
Sunday 27 October
BIBLE SUNDAY
O sing joyfully
Batten
Merbecke LB
Sunday 3 November
ALL SAINTS 
Justorum animae Stanford Merbecke LB
ALL SOULS 
COMMEMORATION OF THE FAITHFUL DEPARTED  4.00pm (Reh: 3.15pm) Lindsay?
  Plainsong introit
Contakion of the Dead
Missa di Requiem
Kiev traditional
   
Sunday 10 November
REMEMBRANCE SUNDAY
In war, resolution
10.45am (Reh: 10am)
Malcolm Archer
  OG
  War Memorial: For the fallen
Douglas Guest    
Sunday 17 November   Blest are the Pure in Heart
Walford Davies Merbecke LB
Sunday 24 November
CHRIST THE KING
King of Glory
Almighty and Everlasting God
Walford Davies
Gibbons
  LB
Sunday 1 December ADVENT SUNDAY

   
Introit:
Wachet auf!
Canite Tuba
Bogoroditsye Dyevo
Advent Wreath Prayers (1)
Bach
Guerrero
Arvo Pärt
Archer
Rawsthorne  
  ADVENT CAROLS
6.30pm (Reh: 5pm)
  OG/LB
Introit:
Bogoroditsye Dyevo
Canite Tuba
This is the record of John
O thou the central Orb
There is no Rose
Arvo Pärt
Guerrero
Gibbons
Wood
Joubert
   
Thursday 5 December Choir Practice (7.00-9.00pm)
    OG
Friday 6 December CAROLS at JESUS HOSPITAL  6.30pm (Reh: 6pm at Jesus Hospital Chapel) LB
  There is no Rose Joubert    
Sunday 8 December This is the record of John
Gibbons Merbecke OG
Sunday 15 December  Adam lay ybounden
Advent Prayer Wreath (3)
Ord
Archer
Merbecke LB
  MUSIC AT BRAY COMMUNITY CAROLS  3.00pm (Reh: 1.30pm)
  OG/LB
Choir:


Community Choir:
Tomorrow Shall be my Dancing Day 
Bogoroditsye Dyevo
Silent Night
Let it Snow
White Christmas
Sleigh Ride
Gardner
Arvo Pärt
Trad arr Willcocks
Rawsthorne  
Saturday 21 December CHRISTINGLE (4pm)      
Sunday 22 December Noel Nouvelet
Advent Wreath (4)
Rutter     Archer Merbecke OG/LB
  CAROL SERVICE  4.00pm (Reh: 2.30pm)
  OG/LB
  Adam lay ybounden
Tomorrow shall be my Dancing Day
Silent Night
Noel Nouvelet
Sussex Carol
Ord
Gardner
Trad arr Willcocks
Rutter
Trad arr Willcocks
   
Tuesday 24 December MIDNIGHT MASS 11.30pm (Reh: 10.30pm)
  OG/LB
Introit:
A great & mighty wonder
Sussex Carol
Noel Nouvelet
Praetorius
Trad, arr Willcocks
Rutter
Rawsthorne  
Wednesday 25 December CHRISTMAS DAY
Adam lay ybounden

Ord
Merbecke LB
END OF TERM
Term resumes: Friday 3rd January 2020
Oliver Gooch